Don’t Be Afraid

As I sit drinking my coffee and perusing the Internet, this thought comes to me:

“Don’t be afraid.”
The news is filled with chaos, anger, foreboding and all sorts of rip offs.  If we take all of this too seriously, we’ll be severely depressed.
But there’s a truth for us that keeps us from fear:
What each believes and the choices we make are squarely in our hands; no one else’s.

I don’t need to be afraid because I know who God is and who I am.  I know my boundaries and limits.  I will choose how I think, feel and act; no one can make me do otherwise…unless, of course, I choose to give them the power.

I admit that I write this as an American, sitting comfortably in the United States.  There are no soldiers outside my door who insist that I look and act a certain way.

These days, there are challenges arising here:  Will I turn in an illegal immigrant or support that person?  Will I join in the hateful speech and actions of many or risk alienation because I choose to honor all?

Dear fellow patriots:
For those of you who face grave consequences as you choose to be true to God and yourself, I am praying for you.  Stand tall; don’t be afraid.
To all who are more like me:  The risks are less threatening; the choices more subtle, I pray for you as well.  Take a stand for goodness and all that is right; don’t be afraid.

When you are tempted to say that somebody is making you think or act in a particular way, remember the heroes around the world who refused to acquiesce, even if it meant giving their lives.  The power is yours; stand firm, don’t be afraid.

If enough of us stand for what is right, refusing to give in to corruption and chaos, peace and joy will reign.
Let’s join together as one loud, clear voice:  Speak truth and act with the welfare of all around us in mind.  As an army of peace, we have strength and power that cannot be stolen or quenched.  Together, we will not be afraid!

Leave a Reply

