Patriots All

When  I registered to vote, I chose “nonaffiliated” as my party association.  The main reason for doing this is that I often see bits of the truth “on both sides of the aisle.”

I am discovering a couple of other reasons as well:
*I am an American first.  When it comes to the welfare of the nation, I want all people to prosper, from the most wealthy to the poorest; conservatives, centrists, progressives and those of us who don’t seem to fit any category.  Oh that the powers that be in Washington D.C. would hold to this value!  Perhaps they would stop bickering, manipulating and posturing so that they could get some real work done!!!

*In times as chaotic as these, I need to be true to myself.  I find that I am less willing to jump on a particular bandwagon or pick up the latest catch phrase, just because it is being promoted.  Integrity is a quality that strengthens and heals all around me.

So, who are you?  Regardless of your nationality, partisanship, specific bents or position in life, you are a person and a patriot – A fellow citizen in the land where you live.

Why does this matter?  Each of us needs the other.  I need you to step up to the plate and do your part in seeing to the welfare and safety of my country; you need me to do the same.  When we all stand and work together, we get something wonderful.

A very wise piece of advice I heard recently is that we are most effective when we join in building our local community.  I like this:  One of the biggest causes of apathy is the sense that we have no say.  On the national level, there is some truth to this; on the local level, however, we have lots of power.
Fellow patriots, I challenge you to join in building a great nation, one community at a time:  Recognize and honor your leaders; ask questions, make suggestions; voice concerns.  Most of all, roll up your sleeves and help out.  That is how we build a strong, prosperous land for all.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

